Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich – My Comfort Food

Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich - My Comfort Food

I currently live in Ireland. I moved here recently and I’m loving it, but I would be lying if I said I didn’t get homesick once in awhile. When I get homesick I have a few things that make me feel better.

1.) Skyping my parents would be the first option. Unfortunately, the 8 hour time difference makes that pretty difficult. So I usually have to opt for number 2 and 3. I can do these both in unison so it makes it that much better.

2.) The second thing that makes me feel less homesick is watching the show The Office; the American version. It was a show I used to watch with my mom and brother at home all the time so I guess it makes me not feel far from home.

3.) The last thing I do to make me feel less homesick is eating a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on toasted bread. Yes, I’m 23 but I still crave these wonderful snacks. I say snack because I have to have about 3 pieces of toast to feel completely satisfied; as opposed to when you’re young and you barely eat one because you tear off all the crust. I can’t be the only one that did that, there have to be other crust haters out there! Funny thing is I love the crust now. Anyways, there’s something about a good pb&j that puts me at ease. If I’m ever feeling a bit off or missing home, this is my go to comfort food.

So next time you’re feeling down or a bit off, maybe try a pb&j. Unless you’re allergic to peanut butter, then forget everything I just said. Maybe try watching The Office, mainly seasons 1-4. (Seasons 2 and 3 are my personal favorites.)

For more food blogs go to: https://www.simplythescoop.com/
Select: Food/Dining category and explore other food blogs or create your own!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About simplythescoop

SimplyTheScoop is an interactive website for users to explore and create topics and events that impact you, your community and the world around you. With one click you can read, post and follow interesting topics, events and conversations about your favorite locations, places and interests. Out of the loop, be connected and SCOOP!!!

One response to “Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich – My Comfort Food”

  1. theadventuresofcharbar says :

    I recently moved back home to Ireland yet I am ‘homesick’ for the Netherlands where I only spent three months. I have been back home almost as long as I was away, yet I desperately want to go back. The funny thing is I never actually missed Ireland once while I was away 😛

Leave a Reply

