My New Hobby: Running

I’ve always been an athlete. When I was younger I played soccer, volleyball, and basketball competitively; I was on different travel teams for each sport. It started with soccer, which requires a lot of running from what I remember. I was in shape for it at the time so it didn’t bother me too much. I was also young so I just did as I was told by my coach. Then came basketball, my least favorite of the three sports. Now, I don’t mind watching it, but I dreaded playing it. My grandpa was in the NBA and so my Dad always had high expectations for me when it came to basketball. I wasn’t big enough, aggressive enough, and I frankly just didn’t like it. Then came volleyball, the sport I ended playing. I played volleyball seriously in high school then ended up getting a scholarship to play at my college. It was a bit of a roller coaster experience, loved the girls I met, but playing at that level takes a lot out of you, but I’m glad I did it. 

Anyways, when I played volleyball in college, we weren’t allowed to run for distance. Apparently, running decreases your vertical, which you obviously need in volleyball. We were only allowed to run sprints, and if we were going to run it couldn’t be longer than a mile and it had to be a very fast pace. We learned quick not to run after one teammate got caught running on the treadmill; it was a brutal punishment of stairs. A completely undoable goal for all girls on the team to do. We had to do 20 flights of stairs within a certain time limit. If the whole team didn’t make it we had to do it again, unless someone on our team threw up. Thankfully, one of my teammates did throw up so we didn’t have to go through it again. 

So running distance has never been something I’ve really been able to do since I was in high school. I’ve never really seen the big deal about running, until now. I didn’t get why people would go on runs to workout; in my head I thought you had to do something more intense as a workout to really stay in good shape. My boyfriend used to run cross country so he was used to running 90 miles a week. Recently, he is trying to get back into his running shape and he suggested I come along with him. I won’t lie, I wasn’t a fan at first. Obviously, I couldn’t keep at his pace, but it just was really hard for me. I would tire very easily and my limbs were always very sore. Now, I’m not out of shape, I workout consistently so there had to be another reason. He watched me run to see how my form was and apparently it was pretty bad. I was slouching, not using my arms, and not lifting my legs. So after a few tips from my boyfriend, I started changing the way that I ran, and it seriously helped. I now enjoy going on runs with him, I feel like I’ve achieved something at the end of it. 

It’s something I never thought I would say, but I really do love to run now. The other day we came back from a run and I had a huge smile on my face. He told me that I had just gotten a runner’s high, and that feeling would now push me to want to continue to run. So now I’m hooked! Guess I should invest in some good running shoes. If anyone has any suggestions I’m all ears! 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About simplythescoop

SimplyTheScoop is an interactive website for users to explore and create topics and events that impact you, your community and the world around you. With one click you can read, post and follow interesting topics, events and conversations about your favorite locations, places and interests. Out of the loop, be connected and SCOOP!!!

Leave a Reply

