The Best Growing Up Experience

The Best Growing Up Experience

I was born and raised in San Francisco, and I couldn’t be more happy about it. Raising my brother, sister, and myself in this city may be one of the best things my parents ever did for us.

Now, some of you may think I’m biased but for a 23-year-old, I would say I have a decent amount of traveling experience. I went to college/grad school in New Rochelle, New York. New Rochelle is just a 30 minute train ride into NYC so I went fairly often. Living in New York was an interesting experience. I met some great people along my journey, and had some great experiences while there. As for the weather, I could’ve done without the winter and summer in New York. The fall was the best in my opinion, but everyone is different. I also could never see myself raising a family in New York City or around it for that matter. I don’t think the four seasons are for me!

I’ve traveled to other cities in the United States such as D.C., Chicago, Dallas, Memphis, Los Angeles, Portland, Boston to either visit friends or to play in volleyball tournaments. I’ve also traveled to other countries such as France, Italy, and I’m currently living in Ireland. Even after all of these experiences, San Francisco still is one of my favorite cities.

San Francisco is such a unique city. It’s not very big, so you don’t feel so lost in the city. It also has so many different neighborhoods ; you have Chinatown, North Beach, Japan Town, the Sunset, Fisherman’s Wharf, Pacific Heights, West Portal, Lakeside…. and the list goes on. Each part of the city is different; different people, food, real estate, and weather.

What I loved most about growing up in San Francisco is you can have the best of both worlds. I grew up in Ingleside, which is on the other side of the city from the Golden Gate Bridge. We had a house with a backyard and a park down the street; essentially it didn’t feel like you were living on top of the house next to you and we never worried about street parking. I went to school on the other side of town in Pacific Heights. This side of town is much busier, finding street parking can be a real pain in the ass. But this side of the city is absolutely beautiful. The weather is better, the real estate is more expensive, you’re closer to the city attractions and your in an all around nicer area. Remember the movie Mrs. Doubtfire? I went to school a block up from the house in they lived in in that movie.

The point I’m trying to make is that San Francisco allows you to grow up in a city, without having to deal with the city living issues. Even the friends I have that grew up on the busy side of the city loved it. Yes, it was busier but they lived on the side of town where everything you want to see in San Francisco generally is. Growing up here helped me in a lot of ways. I gained street smarts, it helped me become cultured, educated, and most importantly appreciative. I can’t name one person that I know that grew up in San Francisco and didn’t enjoy their experience.

There are obviously other great cities in the United States, but if you’ve never been to San Francisco, I HIGHLY recommend you put that on your Bucket List.

Want to talk about your travel experiences or see what others have to say? Check out SimplyTheScoop.com today and get in the loop!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About simplythescoop

SimplyTheScoop is an interactive website for users to explore and create topics and events that impact you, your community and the world around you. With one click you can read, post and follow interesting topics, events and conversations about your favorite locations, places and interests. Out of the loop, be connected and SCOOP!!!

One response to “The Best Growing Up Experience”

  1. zuludelta45 says :

    I liked your blog, and I love your city…….here’s a small sample of my blog, Zulu Delta

    http://zuludelta45.net/2014/02/16/ah-hello-its-the-road-to-the-bat-cave-duh/

Leave a Reply

